Ron Elving http://wfpl.org en RNC Post-Election Report A Line In The Sand For Divided GOP http://wfpl.org/post/rnc-post-election-report-line-sand-divided-gop The release of a "<a href="http://www.npr.org/2013/03/18/174665725/rnc-report-a-postmortem-on-failed-2012-election" target="_blank">postmortem</a>" report on the 2012 national election by the Republican National Committee is either the first step toward the GOP's recovery or the latest sign that the party is headed for a breakup.<p>Or, it could be both.<p>RNC Chairman Reince Priebus put out a <a href="http://www.gop.com/news/chairmans-blog/rnc-chairman-reince-priebus-remarks-from-the-national-press-club/" target="_blank">hard-eyed assessment</a> of the state of his party, excoriating failures Tue, 19 Mar 2013 15:53:03 +0000 Ron Elving 4561 at http://wfpl.org RNC Post-Election Report A Line In The Sand For Divided GOP NPR Poll Finds Presidential Race Too Close To Call http://wfpl.org/post/npr-poll-finds-presidential-race-too-close-call The <a href="http://media.npr.org/documents/2012/oct/NPROctpoll.pdf" target="_blank">latest and last NPR Battleground Poll</a> for 2012 shows former Massachusetts Gov. Mitt Romney holding the narrowest of leads in the national sample, but trailing President Obama in the dozen states that will decide the election.<p>The poll adds evidence that the Oct. 3 debate between the two men redefined the race. Tue, 30 Oct 2012 13:26:22 +0000 Ron Elving 2237 at http://wfpl.org NPR Poll Finds Presidential Race Too Close To Call A Stronger Showing At Hofstra, But Ghost Of Denver Still Haunts Obama http://wfpl.org/post/stronger-showing-hofstra-ghost-denver-still-haunts-obama President Obama beat at least one of his adversaries on the stage at Hofstra University last night. He easily outperformed that guy — whoever he was — who debated against former Gov. Mitt Romney two weeks ago in Denver.<p>That much was obvious — and necessary for the president. The question now is whether it will be sufficient to restore his momentum in the race itself.<p>Some "instant polls" and other quickie measures were heartening to the Obama camp. But no matter how much Obama's showing at Hofstra surpassed his Denver no-show, it will not eradicate the damage or make up for lost time. Wed, 17 Oct 2012 13:47:29 +0000 Ron Elving 2046 at http://wfpl.org A Stronger Showing At Hofstra, But Ghost Of Denver Still Haunts Obama GOP's 'We Built It' Refrain Is Both Puzzling And Telling http://wfpl.org/post/gops-we-built-it-refrain-both-puzzling-and-telling <p>http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=3DkINRPpXf8</p><p>http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=dBOqLxzGTx8</p> Fri, 31 Aug 2012 15:59:25 +0000 Ron Elving 1514 at http://wfpl.org GOP's 'We Built It' Refrain Is Both Puzzling And Telling A Majority Of Voters In NPR Poll Favor Amending, Not Repealing, Health Care Act http://wfpl.org/post/majority-voters-npr-poll-favor-amending-not-repealing-health-care-act <a href="http://www.npr.org/news/polls/npr.pdf">A new poll done for NPR</a> by a bipartisan polling team shows the Affordable Care Act still stirring deep political division in the weeks after the Supreme Court upheld the law's constitutionality. Thu, 19 Jul 2012 14:32:06 +0000 Ron Elving 1062 at http://wfpl.org A Majority Of Voters In NPR Poll Favor Amending, Not Repealing, Health Care Act