Dan Charles http://wfpl.org en Why Urban Beekeeping Can Be Bad For Bees http://wfpl.org/post/why-urban-beekeeping-can-be-bad-bees Two British scientists are dumping cold water on campaigns to promote urban beekeeping. They say that trying to "help the bees" by setting out more hives is naive and misguided if the bees can't find enough flowers nearby to feed on. Tue, 13 Aug 2013 14:53:40 +0000 Dan Charles 6444 at http://wfpl.org Why Urban Beekeeping Can Be Bad For Bees Farmer's Fight With Monsanto Reaches The Supreme Court http://wfpl.org/post/farmers-fight-monsanto-reaches-supreme-court This week, the Supreme Court will take up a classic David-and-Goliath <a href="http://www.scotusblog.com/case-files/cases/bowman-v-monsanto-co/">case</a>. On one side, there's a 75-year-old farmer in Indiana named Vernon Hugh Bowman; on the other, the agribusiness giant Monsanto.<p>The farmer is fighting the long reach of Monsanto's patents on seeds — but he's up against more than just Monsanto. Mon, 18 Feb 2013 11:47:34 +0000 Dan Charles 4059 at http://wfpl.org Farmer's Fight With Monsanto Reaches The Supreme Court Why Chicken Wings Dominate Super Bowl Snack Time http://wfpl.org/post/why-chicken-wings-dominate-super-bowl-snack-time Take a look at this remarkable graph — is it the stock market? Home sales?<p>Nope. Click on the blue box in the lower right-hand corner and you'll see that the blue line tracks the number of chicken wings that Americans bought at grocery stores over the last year. See that mighty surge of wing-buying in early February? Tue, 29 Jan 2013 17:11:35 +0000 Dan Charles 3675 at http://wfpl.org Why Chicken Wings Dominate Super Bowl Snack Time How One Man Tried To Slim Down Big Soda From The Inside http://wfpl.org/post/how-one-man-tried-slim-down-big-soda-inside Many big food companies are caught in a dilemma these days. Mon, 28 Jan 2013 18:11:50 +0000 Dan Charles 3657 at http://wfpl.org How One Man Tried To Slim Down Big Soda From The Inside Don't Fear That Expired Food http://wfpl.org/post/dont-fear-expired-food Now that the Christmas feast is over, you may be looking at all the extra food you made, or the food that you brought home from the store that never even got opened.<p>And you may be wondering: How long can I keep this? What if it's past its expiration date? Who even comes up with those dates on food, anyway, and what do they mean?<p>Here's the short answer: Those "sell by" dates are there to protect the reputation of the food. They have very little to do with food safety. Wed, 26 Dec 2012 14:28:48 +0000 Dan Charles 3119 at http://wfpl.org Don't Fear That Expired Food Here's Where Farms Are Sucking The Planet Dry http://wfpl.org/post/heres-where-farms-are-sucking-planet-dry This map is disturbing, once you understand it. It's a new attempt to visualize an old problem — the shrinking of underground water reserves, in most cases because farmers are <a href="http://www.npr.org/blogs/thesalt/2011/09/28/140805298/water-water-everywhere-but-not-enough-to-waste">pumping out</a> water to irrigate their crops.<p>The map itself isn't hard to grasp. The colored areas show the world's largest aquifers — areas which hold deposits of groundwater. The blue ones are doing fine; more rainfall is flowing into them than is being pumped out of them for homes or irrigating fields. Thu, 09 Aug 2012 12:22:32 +0000 Dan Charles 1262 at http://wfpl.org Here's Where Farms Are Sucking The Planet Dry