Shankar Vedantam http://wfpl.org en Bans Of Same-Sex Marriage Can Take A Psychological Toll http://wfpl.org/post/bans-same-sex-marriage-can-take-psychological-toll As the country awaits two important Supreme Court decisions involving state laws on <a href="http://www.npr.org/blogs/thetwo-way/2013/03/27/175456841/happening-now-day-2-of-same-sex-marriage-cases-at-supreme-court">same-sex marriage</a>, a small but consistent body of research suggests that laws that ban gay marriage — or approve it — can affect the mental health of gay, lesbian and bisexual Americans. Mon, 20 May 2013 10:49:01 +0000 Shankar Vedantam 5460 at http://wfpl.org Bans Of Same-Sex Marriage Can Take A Psychological Toll Young Girls May Get More 'Teaching Time' From Parents Than Boys Do http://wfpl.org/post/girls-may-get-more-teaching-time-parents-boys-do For some years now, teachers and parents have noted something about boys and girls. Mon, 06 May 2013 10:51:14 +0000 Shankar Vedantam 5267 at http://wfpl.org Young Girls May Get More 'Teaching Time' From Parents Than Boys Do Why You Love That Ikea Table, Even If It's Crooked http://wfpl.org/post/why-you-love-ikea-table-even-if-its-crooked Have you ever spent a couple of hours working on a craft project — or a presentation for work — and then fallen in love with what you've accomplished? Wed, 06 Feb 2013 15:01:11 +0000 Shankar Vedantam 3835 at http://wfpl.org Why You Love That Ikea Table, Even If It's Crooked Why Some Kids Have An Inflated Sense Of Their Science Skills http://wfpl.org/post/why-some-kids-have-inflated-sense-their-science-skills If you're a student at the halfway point of the academic year, and you've just taken stock of your performance, perhaps you have reason to feel proud of yourself.<p>But a recent study suggests some of the pride you feel at having done well — especially in science — may be unfounded. Fri, 21 Dec 2012 14:22:39 +0000 Shankar Vedantam 3084 at http://wfpl.org Study: Reading 'Maxim' Can Make You A Theft Target http://wfpl.org/post/study-reading-maxim-can-make-you-theft-target Some time ago, a man wearing jeans, cowboy boots and a hoodie drove a dirty Ford Explorer into a carwash in Fort Worth, Texas. As soon as the car came back clean, he got it filthy again, and drove to the next carwash. He did this with every single full-service carwash in town.<p>The man wasn't suffering from a strange mental disorder; Patrick Kinkade was a criminologist conducting an experiment.<p>Kinkade left a large amount of loose change inside the car each time he dropped it off. Wed, 14 Nov 2012 12:41:12 +0000 Shankar Vedantam 2494 at http://wfpl.org Study: Reading 'Maxim' Can Make You A Theft Target Do Scores Go Up When Teachers Return Bonuses? http://wfpl.org/post/do-scores-go-when-teachers-return-bonuses In Chicago, parents were fuming over a weeklong <a href="http://www.npr.org/blogs/thetwo-way/2012/09/18/161346354/chicago-teachers-scheduled-to-vote-on-contract">strike</a> by teachers. Around the rest of the country, in the face of growing <a href="http://www.npr.org/2010/12/07/131884477/Study-Confirms-U-S-Falling-Behind-In-Education">evidence</a> that many U.S. Wed, 19 Sep 2012 10:40:02 +0000 Shankar Vedantam 1709 at http://wfpl.org Do Scores Go Up When Teachers Return Bonuses?