Marilyn Geewax http://wfpl.org en Disappointing Jobs Data May Point To A Tougher 2014 http://wfpl.org/post/disappointing-jobs-data-may-point-tougher-2014 <a href="http://www.npr.org/blogs/thetwo-way/2014/02/07/272956312/nervousness-about-economy-ahead-of-todays-jobs-report" target="_blank">Friday's unemployment report</a> confirmed what many workers already had suspected: Five years after the job market plunged off a cliff, the climb back remains a tough slog.<p>In January, employers created <a href="http://www.bls.gov/news.release/empsit.nr0.htm">113,000 additional jobs</a>, well below most economists' estimates of roughly 185,000. Sat, 08 Feb 2014 12:49:07 +0000 Marilyn Geewax 8525 at http://wfpl.org Disappointing Jobs Data May Point To A Tougher 2014 Extended Unemployment Benefits On Track To Expire Dec. 28 http://wfpl.org/post/extended-unemployment-benefits-track-expire-dec-28 Unless Congress acts very quickly, some 1.3 million workers will lose their extended jobless benefits on Dec. 28.<p>Democrats were scrambling late Wednesday to link an extension of benefits to a budget deal that is expected to get a vote as soon as Thursday. Thu, 12 Dec 2013 11:45:13 +0000 Marilyn Geewax 7875 at http://wfpl.org Extended Unemployment Benefits On Track To Expire Dec. 28 Economists Toast 20 Years Of NAFTA; Critics Sit Out The Party http://wfpl.org/post/economists-toast-20-years-nafta-critics-sit-out-party <p>http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=Rkgx1C_S6ls</p> Sun, 08 Dec 2013 12:24:21 +0000 Marilyn Geewax 7829 at http://wfpl.org Economists Toast 20 Years Of NAFTA; Critics Sit Out The Party Many Americans Will Be Giving Thanks For Lower Prices http://wfpl.org/post/many-americans-will-be-giving-thanks-lower-prices When Americans drive to their Thanksgiving gatherings this week, they will have one more blessing to count: lower costs.<p>Gasoline is cheaper than last year. Turkey prices are down, too. Mon, 25 Nov 2013 11:30:56 +0000 Marilyn Geewax 7677 at http://wfpl.org Many Americans Will Be Giving Thanks For Lower Prices Airline Antitrust Deal Seen Boosting Competition At Airports http://wfpl.org/post/airline-antitrust-deal-seen-boosting-competition-airports From the start, airline analysts had been predicting that an antitrust lawsuit would not stop the $11 billion deal to combine US Airways and American Airlines.<p>They saw the suit, filed in August, as a government negotiating tactic, not a deal-breaker.<p>Turns out, they were right: On Tuesday, the Justice Department said that rather than go to trial, it has <a href="http://www.justice.gov/opa/pr/2013/November/13-at-1202.html">settled the case</a>. Wed, 13 Nov 2013 11:46:07 +0000 Marilyn Geewax 7536 at http://wfpl.org Airline Antitrust Deal Seen Boosting Competition At Airports Declining Gas Prices Pump Up A Shaky Economy http://wfpl.org/post/declining-gas-prices-pump-shaky-economy In recent weeks, economists have been worrying about the negative impact of the now-ended government shutdown and potential debt crisis.<p>But away from Capitol Hill, the economy has been getting a big boost: Gasoline prices have been declining, week after week. Fri, 18 Oct 2013 10:49:33 +0000 Marilyn Geewax 7253 at http://wfpl.org Declining Gas Prices Pump Up A Shaky Economy DOJ Suit Seen Delaying, Not Killing Big Airline Merger http://wfpl.org/post/doj-suit-seen-delaying-not-killing-big-airline-merger The government's decision Tuesday to oppose the merger of US Airways and American Airlines stunned airline analysts, but many predicted the deal eventually will win go through.<p>"Given that other airline mergers were approved, this was a surprise," University of Richmond transportation economist George Hoffer said. Other major carriers already have been allowed to combine forces, so "it's illogical to oppose this merger. Wed, 14 Aug 2013 10:52:16 +0000 Marilyn Geewax 6450 at http://wfpl.org DOJ Suit Seen Delaying, Not Killing Big Airline Merger Part-Time Workers Say Schedules Are Getting More Erratic http://wfpl.org/post/part-time-workers-say-schedules-are-getting-more-erratic In the 1980s, a popular fast-food commercial touted chicken-breast sandwiches — and mocked chicken nuggets sold by competitors.<p><a href="http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=y_oem9BqUTI">In the ad</a>, a competitor's doofus clerk explains nuggets. "All the parts are crammed into one big part," he said. "And parts is parts."<p>Today, clerks may believe that catchphrase could apply to them as regular full-time schedules disappear. Fri, 19 Jul 2013 10:56:27 +0000 Marilyn Geewax 6173 at http://wfpl.org Part-Time Workers Say Schedules Are Getting More Erratic Flight Delays Push Congress To End Controller Furloughs http://wfpl.org/post/flight-delays-push-congress-end-controller-furloughs The U.S. Congress — a body not exactly known for its swift feet — raced Friday to complete legislation to help travelers avoid delays at airports.<p>The House voted 361-41 to <a href="http://www.npr.org/blogs/thetwo-way/2013/04/26/179241921/house-oks-bill-to-end-air-traffic-controllers-furloughs">approve legislation</a> that the Senate passed without objection late Thursday. Sat, 27 Apr 2013 11:14:44 +0000 Marilyn Geewax 5166 at http://wfpl.org Flight Delays Push Congress To End Controller Furloughs Airport Delays Raise Questions About Controller Furloughs http://wfpl.org/post/airport-delays-raise-questions-about-controller-furloughs Some air travelers <a href="http://www.npr.org/blogs/thetwo-way/2013/04/22/178408691/airline-customers-watch-for-delays-as-furloughs-hit-faa-workers">faced delays</a> Monday as furloughs of air traffic controllers began taking effect.<p>The Federal Aviation Administration said that with fewer eyes on the skies, it was forced to delay some flights. Tue, 23 Apr 2013 10:35:01 +0000 Marilyn Geewax 5095 at http://wfpl.org Airport Delays Raise Questions About Controller Furloughs