Peter Overby http://wfpl.org en Supreme Court Will Not Hear Campaign Finance Case On Corporate Donations http://wfpl.org/post/supreme-court-will-not-hear-campaign-finance-case-corporate-donations The Supreme Court says it won't hear a case that would have let candidates solicit money from corporations. By doing so, the court is reaffirming one strict ban on corporate political money, three years ago after easing other limits in its controversial <em>Citizens United</em> ruling.<p>Congress outlawed corporate contributions to candidates back in 1907. Mon, 25 Feb 2013 19:20:30 +0000 Peter Overby 4190 at http://wfpl.org Supreme Court Will Not Hear Campaign Finance Case On Corporate Donations Supreme Court Takes Case That Could Puncture A Key Campaign Cash Limit http://wfpl.org/post/supreme-court-takes-case-could-puncture-key-campaign-cash-limit Barely three years after the Supreme Court's landmark <a href="http://www.supremecourt.gov/opinions/09pdf/08-205.pdf">Citizens United ruling</a>, which liberated corporations to spend freely in elections, the justices say they'll take up another campaign finance case — this time aiming at one of the limits on the "hard money" that goes directly to candidates and party committees.<p>The court <a href="http://www.supremecourt.gov/qp/12-00536qp.pdf">decided Tuesday</a> to hear arguments in <a href="http://www.fec.gov/law/litigation/McCutcheon.shtml">McCutcheon v. Wed, 20 Feb 2013 15:48:08 +0000 Peter Overby 4092 at http://wfpl.org Supreme Court Takes Case That Could Puncture A Key Campaign Cash Limit A Review Of 2012 Confirms A 'Pulverizing' Level Of Political Ads http://wfpl.org/post/review-2012-confirms-pulverizing-level-political-ads If you look back at the 2012 campaign as an unrelenting gusher spewing TV ads of anger and negativity, the <a href="http://mediaproject.wesleyan.edu/">Wesleyan Media Project</a> is here to confirm your every grim memory.<p>The word used by Erika Franklin Fowler, of Wesleyan University in Connecticut: "Pulverizing."<p>"Not only did we see record, pulverizing amounts of advertising on the air, but we saw it concentrated, so heavily concentrated, into just a small number of markets," Fowler told me in an interview. Fri, 15 Feb 2013 14:42:59 +0000 Peter Overby 4019 at http://wfpl.org A Review Of 2012 Confirms A 'Pulverizing' Level Of Political Ads Single-Issue Solidarity Behind NRA's Clout http://wfpl.org/post/single-issue-solidarity-behind-nras-clout <p>http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=hJo2xlmT29I</p> Wed, 19 Dec 2012 12:36:56 +0000 Peter Overby 3038 at http://wfpl.org Single-Issue Solidarity Behind NRA's Clout Latest Fundraising Picture Shows Strong Month For Obama http://wfpl.org/post/latest-fundraising-picture-shows-strong-month-obama Fundraising reports filed last night by the presidential campaigns show President Obama with a slight advantage in fundraising last month, while Republican Mitt Romney has the edge by some other measures.<p>Each candidate is raising money for his own campaign committee, plus his national party committee and a joint fundraising committee or two.<p>So what you see depends on what you look at.<p>In cash on hand, the overall Romney organization finished August with more than $168 million — that's $43 million more than the overall Obama organization.<p>But Obama outraised Romney, especially when yo Fri, 21 Sep 2012 17:56:43 +0000 Peter Overby 1749 at http://wfpl.org