Linda Holmes http://wfpl.org en On TV's Big Night, Can Netflix Crash The Emmy Party? http://wfpl.org/post/tvs-big-night-can-netflix-crash-emmy-party It might seem like the only TV serious viewers are paying attention to right now is <em>Breaking Bad</em>, but on Sunday night, just as Walter White's penultimate episode is unfolding on AMC, we'll be finding out over on CBS whether his show, his portrayer Bryan Cranston, or other personnel will be taking home Primetime Emmy Awards.<p>An awful lot of familiar faces seem likely to win, as 2012-13 wasn't a big season for new breakout shows. Sun, 22 Sep 2013 11:16:23 +0000 Linda Holmes 6933 at http://wfpl.org On TV's Big Night, Can Netflix Crash The Emmy Party? Reaction Saturation And Sunday Night Television http://wfpl.org/post/reaction-saturation-and-sunday-night-television Consider what goes on in your brain when you, for instance, you watch an episode of <em>Mad Men</em>.<p>First, you have a reaction. "That's weird" is a reaction. So is "yuck." So is "wow." "This doesn't make sense" is a reaction, "that's a great dress" is a reaction, and "WHAT?" is a reaction.<p>Next, you might choose to push on your reaction until it matures into a thought. "I didn't buy that conflict because I don't think Joan would take that position on this issue, based on past events" is a thought. Mon, 20 May 2013 14:05:01 +0000 Linda Holmes 5465 at http://wfpl.org Reaction Saturation And Sunday Night Television Let's Rush To Judgment: 'Catching Fire' http://wfpl.org/post/lets-rush-judgment-catching-fire <p>http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=jyPnQw_Lqds</p> Mon, 15 Apr 2013 14:28:00 +0000 Linda Holmes 4978 at http://wfpl.org Let's Rush To Judgment: 'Catching Fire' 'Arrested Development' Comes Back On Netflix On May 26, So Get Extra Sleep Now http://wfpl.org/post/arrested-development-comes-back-netflix-may-26-so-get-extra-sleep-now Netflix <a href="https://twitter.com/netflix/status/319776748042604544/photo/1" target="_blank">has announced</a> that the new "anthology" season of <em>Arrested Development</em> will arrive — all 15 episodes at once — on May 26. The show, which ran on Fox from 2003 to 2006 and won an Emmy for Outstanding Comedy Series, will bring back its entire cast, including Jason Bateman, Will Arnett, Jeffrey Tambor, Michael Cera, David Cross, and many, many more.<p>May 26 is a Sunday, so this means that some people will stay up very late on Saturday night and start watching at 12:01 a.m. Thu, 04 Apr 2013 16:04:29 +0000 Linda Holmes 4828 at http://wfpl.org 'Arrested Development' Comes Back On Netflix On May 26, So Get Extra Sleep Now Viewer Discretion: Deciding When To Look Away http://wfpl.org/post/viewer-discretion-deciding-when-look-away I was out of the house, as it happens, for most of the first half of <a href="http://www.npr.org/blogs/thetwo-way/2013/04/01/175901141/louisville-players-surgery-a-success-leg-break-shouldnt-end-his-career">yesterday's Louisville-Duke game</a>, and when I got home and looked at Twitter, before I turned on the TV, there was a huge stack of stuff to read, and the first thing that caught my attention about the game was <a href="https://twitter.com/d_fienberg/status/318478027883433985" target="_blank">this</a>.<p>That's Dan Fienberg of Hitfix, tweeting about the grisly broken leg suffered by Louis Mon, 01 Apr 2013 15:09:25 +0000 Linda Holmes 4770 at http://wfpl.org Viewer Discretion: Deciding When To Look Away Are Romantic Comedies Dead? http://wfpl.org/post/are-romantic-comedies-dead The March issue of <em>The Atlantic </em>features an essay from Christopher Orr called <a href="http://www.theatlantic.com/magazine/archive/2013/03/why-are-romantic-comedies-so-bad/309236/1/" target="_blank">"Why Are Romantic Comedies So Bad?"</a>* In it, Orr asserts that romantic comedies have been "lackluster for decades." <em>Decades</em>. Tue, 05 Mar 2013 21:03:04 +0000 Linda Holmes 4341 at http://wfpl.org Are Romantic Comedies Dead? The Oscars Broadcast, Zooming Way Past Cheeky To Land Squarely On Crass http://wfpl.org/post/oscars-broadcast-zooming-way-past-cheeky-land-squarely-crass If you like <em>Argo</em> (which won Best Picture), the movie <em>Chicago</em> (which made a couple of appearances) and jokes about women (which just kept coming), you probably had a substantially better night than the average viewer, who was subjected to Seth MacFarlane's delivery of one of the worst hosting performances in Oscar history.<p>In fact, David Letterman is writing Seth MacFarlane notes of gratitude right now for taking all the pressure off of "Uma, Oprah, Oprah, Uma," the most famous bomb of 1995, and more recent troubled hosts James Franco and Anne Hathaway are feeling a little l Mon, 25 Feb 2013 11:38:56 +0000 Linda Holmes 4178 at http://wfpl.org The Oscars Broadcast, Zooming Way Past Cheeky To Land Squarely On Crass 'Argo' Is The Best Picture Frontrunner, But Why? http://wfpl.org/post/argo-best-picture-frontrunner-why <em><strong>Programming Note:</strong> Sunday night, we'll be live-blogging the Academy Awards here at NPR.org, and the </em>Wait Wait ... Sat, 23 Feb 2013 11:37:08 +0000 Linda Holmes 4166 at http://wfpl.org 'Argo' Is The Best Picture Frontrunner, But Why? Choosing Sides: How To Pick Between The Ravens And The 49ers http://wfpl.org/post/choosing-sides-how-pick-between-ravens-and-49ers Headlines were circulating last week about how, as <em>Slate</em> put it, <a href="http://www.slate.com/blogs/future_tense/2013/01/29/super_bowl_facebook_data_show_who_s_rooting_for_49ers_over_ravens.html" target="_blank">"almost everybody" is rooting for the San Francisco 49ers</a> over the Baltimore Ravens in Sunday's Super Bowl. Sun, 03 Feb 2013 20:02:50 +0000 Linda Holmes 3786 at http://wfpl.org Choosing Sides: How To Pick Between The Ravens And The 49ers