Rupp Arena http://wfpl.org en Highlights of the Kentucky State Budget Compromise http://wfpl.org/post/highlights-kentucky-state-budget-compromise <p><span style="line-height: 1.5;">&nbsp;&nbsp;</span>FRANKFORT—State House and Senate leaders have agreed on the details of a $20.3 billion biennial state budget that largely preserves&nbsp;Gov. Steve&nbsp;Beshear's&nbsp;intention to restore funding for K-12 education. A final vote on the plan is expected late Monday night.</p> Mon, 31 Mar 2014 14:02:13 +0000 Jonathan Meador 9017 at http://wfpl.org Highlights of the Kentucky State Budget Compromise Rupp Arena Overhaul Plans Unveiled http://wfpl.org/post/rupp-arena-overhaul-plans-unveiled <p>Officials have announced details of a planned $300 million "reinvention" of Lexington’s Rupp Arena.</p><p>The design includes a new adjoining convention center, a transparent facade chair-back seats throughout the arena.</p><p>Governor Steve Beshear is recommending $65 million in state-issued bonds to help fund the project. Full financing has not been worked out yet.</p><p>Lexington Mayor Jim Gray says that’s not a concern.</p> Mon, 10 Feb 2014 23:47:11 +0000 Stu Johnson | Kentucky Public Radio 8542 at http://wfpl.org Rupp Arena Overhaul Plans Unveiled Kentucky Wildcats Led Nation in 2012-13 Men's Basketball Attendance http://wfpl.org/post/kentucky-wildcats-led-nation-2012-13-mens-basketball-attendance <p>The Kentucky Wildcats men's basketball team did not have a great 2012-13 season. Fresh off a national championship, they finished 21-12 and had a disappointing run in the National Invitational Tournament.</p><p>The Louisville Cardinals, on the other hand, <a href="/post/what-louisville-cardinals-championship-celebration-looked-and-sounded">finished 35-5 and won the national title.</a></p> Thu, 15 Aug 2013 11:07:50 +0000 Joseph Lord 6462 at http://wfpl.org Kentucky Wildcats Led Nation in 2012-13 Men's Basketball Attendance Lexington Gets Update on Rupp Arena Project http://wfpl.org/post/lexington-gets-update-rupp-arena-project <p><span style="color: rgb(34, 34, 34); font-family: arial; font-size: small; line-height: normal;">In about a month, more details are expected on who should design the renovation of Lexington’s Rupp Arena. Wed, 24 Apr 2013 18:53:40 +0000 Stu Johnson | Kentucky Public Radio 5122 at http://wfpl.org Lexington Gets Update on Rupp Arena Project Louisville Cards Begin NCAA Title Quest in Lexington http://wfpl.org/post/louisville-cards-begin-ncaa-title-quest-lexington <p></p><p>With the number one overall seed, a Big East Tournament title and a nine-game winning streak on its resume, &nbsp;the University of Louisville begins play in the men’s NCAA basketball tournament tomorrow &nbsp;in Lexington. &nbsp;</p><p><span style="line-height: 1.5;">The Cards take on North Carolina A&amp;T, which defeated Liberty in Tuesday’s play-in game.&nbsp; It was the Aggies’ first-ever NCAA tournament victory.</span></p><p>U of L senior guard Peyton Siva says the Cards are clicking—as a team--at the right time.</p> Wed, 20 Mar 2013 20:23:13 +0000 Rick Howlett 4588 at http://wfpl.org Louisville Cards Begin NCAA Title Quest in Lexington Firm Chosen to Develop Financial Plan for Rupp Renovation http://wfpl.org/post/firm-chosen-develop-financial-plan-rupp-renovation <P>A Minneapolis-based consulting firm will help the Lexington Center Corp. develop a financial plan to pay for a renovation of Rupp Arena and construction of a new convention center. Conventions, Sports &amp; Leisure International was picked for the job today at a meeting of the Lexington Center Board of Directors.<p> <P>“If the finances don’t work, it doesn’t go," said board chairman Cecil Dunn. Thu, 15 Nov 2012 20:33:12 +0000 Kentucky Public Radio's Brenna Angel 2524 at http://wfpl.org Firm Chosen to Develop Financial Plan for Rupp Renovation