Unbound http://wfpl.org en Listen | Kyle Coma-Thompson Reads 'From Anna' http://wfpl.org/post/listen-kyle-coma-thompson-reads-anna <p>Louisville writer Kyle Coma-Thompson’s first book is out. His collection of short stories, “The Lucky Body,” was published in December by Seattle’s <a href="http://dockstreetpress.com/books/">Dock Street Press</a>.&nbsp;</p><p>Coma-Thompson is a former Axton Fellow in Creative Writing at the University of Louisville. He earned his Master of Fine Arts in writing at the University of Virginia, and began his creative writing studies as an undergraduate studying with Nikky Finney at the University of Kentucky.&nbsp;</p> Fri, 17 Jan 2014 18:45:00 +0000 Erin Keane 8251 at http://wfpl.org Listen | Kyle Coma-Thompson Reads 'From Anna' Unbound: Kirby Gann and Jacquelin Gorman on 'Windows Into Other Worlds' http://wfpl.org/post/unbound-kirby-gann-and-jacquelin-gorman-windows-other-worlds <p></p> Sat, 29 Jun 2013 11:00:00 +0000 Erin Keane 5947 at http://wfpl.org Unbound: Kirby Gann and Jacquelin Gorman on 'Windows Into Other Worlds' Unbound: Jacinda Townsend and Neela Vaswani on 'Object Permanence' http://wfpl.org/post/unbound-jacinda-townsend-and-neela-vaswani-object-permanence <p></p> Fri, 28 Jun 2013 11:00:00 +0000 Erin Keane 5931 at http://wfpl.org Unbound: Jacinda Townsend and Neela Vaswani on 'Object Permanence' Unbound: Silas House and Manuel Gonzales on 'The War at Home' http://wfpl.org/post/unbound-silas-house-and-manuel-gonzales-war-home <p></p><p><span style="line-height: 1.5;">On today’s episode, we’re going behind the front lines in the war at home.&nbsp;</span><span style="line-height: 1.5;">In our first story, a young boy in Eastern Kentucky writes to his pen pal, an Indian immigrant living in Manhattan, about life in the mountains during the 2008 elections. Silas House reads a chapter from “Same Sun Here.” Then, a man shrinks his wife and gives her a doll house to live in. The wife doesn’t take it lying down. Manuel Gonzales reads “The Miniature Wife.”</span></p> Thu, 27 Jun 2013 11:00:00 +0000 Erin Keane 5889 at http://wfpl.org Unbound: Silas House and Manuel Gonzales on 'The War at Home' Unbound: Matt Bell and Brian Leung on 'Far Away, So Close' http://wfpl.org/post/unbound-matt-bell-and-brian-leung-far-away-so-close <p></p><p><span style="line-height: 1.5;">On today’s episode, we’ll consider the distance between two people. What keeps a couple bound together, and what drives them apart? &nbsp;</span><span style="line-height: 1.5;">In&nbsp;</span><span style="line-height: 1.5;">Matt Bell's “For You We Are Holding,”</span><span style="line-height: 1.5;">&nbsp;a city throbs with missed connections and swells with the memories of all that we want and what we have lost. Then, an estranged wife returns home to a sick dog and brings hope with her in Brian Leung's “Dog Sleep.”</span></p> Wed, 26 Jun 2013 11:00:00 +0000 Erin Keane 5888 at http://wfpl.org Unbound: Matt Bell and Brian Leung on 'Far Away, So Close' Unbound: Tessa Mellas and Claire Vaye Watkins on 'Girlfriends' http://wfpl.org/post/unbound-tessa-mellas-and-claire-vaye-watkins-girlfriends <p></p> Tue, 25 Jun 2013 11:00:00 +0000 Erin Keane 5887 at http://wfpl.org Unbound: Tessa Mellas and Claire Vaye Watkins on 'Girlfriends' Unbound: Tania James and Kyle Minor on 'Alternate Histories' http://wfpl.org/post/unbound-tania-james-and-kyle-minor-alternate-histories <p></p><p><span style="line-height: 1.5;">Today’s episode considers the alternate history. What if things had been different in our lives? What if the people we think we know, know nothing about who we are, or were? And what happens when they try to find out?</span></p> Sat, 22 Jun 2013 11:00:00 +0000 Erin Keane 5781 at http://wfpl.org Unbound: Tania James and Kyle Minor on 'Alternate Histories' Unbound: Roxane Gay and Alex Taylor on 'Crime and Punishment' http://wfpl.org/post/unbound-roxane-gay-and-alex-taylor-crime-and-punishment <p></p> Fri, 21 Jun 2013 11:00:00 +0000 Erin Keane 5780 at http://wfpl.org Unbound: Roxane Gay and Alex Taylor on 'Crime and Punishment' Unbound: Patrick Wensink and Gwenda Bond on 'Bad Luck' http://wfpl.org/post/unbound-patrick-wensink-and-gwenda-bond-bad-luck <p></p><p><span style="line-height: 1.5;">In each episode of Unbound, we hear stories from two different authors on a theme.&nbsp;</span><span style="line-height: 1.5;">Today’s episode is about luck. We’d like to think we’re entirely in control of our destinies, but fortune doesn’t smile equally on everyone.&nbsp;</span></p> Thu, 20 Jun 2013 11:00:00 +0000 Erin Keane 5768 at http://wfpl.org Unbound: Patrick Wensink and Gwenda Bond on 'Bad Luck' Unbound: Justin Torres and Holly Goddard Jones on 'Nightclub Jitters' http://wfpl.org/post/unbound-justin-torres-and-holly-goddard-jones-nightclub-jitters <p></p><p><span style="line-height: 1.5;">In each episode of Unbound, we hear stories from two different authors on a theme.&nbsp;</span><span style="line-height: 1.5;">Today’s episode is about nightlife—the soft glow of the jukebox, the clink of ice in a glass, the promise of romance and the threat of loneliness around every corner.</span></p> Wed, 19 Jun 2013 11:00:00 +0000 Erin Keane 5767 at http://wfpl.org Unbound: Justin Torres and Holly Goddard Jones on 'Nightclub Jitters'