carbon dioxide http://wfpl.org en What Kentucky's New Law on Carbon Dioxide Emissions Actually Means http://wfpl.org/post/what-kentuckys-new-law-carbon-dioxide-emissions-actually-means <p>Ignoring words of caution from his own administration, Governor Steve Beshear signed a bill directing the state’s Energy and Environment Cabinet to create a Kentucky-specific plan for regulating carbon dioxide emissions into law earlier this month.</p> Mon, 14 Apr 2014 18:47:18 +0000 Erica Peterson 9138 at http://wfpl.org What Kentucky's New Law on Carbon Dioxide Emissions Actually Means EPA Carbon Limits on New Power Plants Expected Tomorrow http://wfpl.org/post/epa-carbon-limits-new-power-plants-expected-tomorrow <p>The Environmental Protection Agency is scheduled <a href="https://s3.amazonaws.com/public-inspection.federalregister.gov/2013-28668.pdf" target="_blank">to formally publish tomorrow </a>a proposal to limit greenhouse gas emissions—namely, carbon dioxide—from power plants.</p> Tue, 07 Jan 2014 19:42:33 +0000 Erica Peterson 8152 at http://wfpl.org EPA Carbon Limits on New Power Plants Expected Tomorrow NASA Scientist Discusses Climate Change, Effect on Kentucky http://wfpl.org/post/nasa-scientist-discusses-climate-change-effect-kentucky <p>In increasing numbers, scientists are in agreement that the earth’s climate is changing, and human carbon dioxide emissions are contributing to those changes. A NASA climate scientist was in Louisville this weekend to talk about the growing evidence.</p> Mon, 24 Sep 2012 13:00:00 +0000 Erica Peterson 1758 at http://wfpl.org Alabama Plant Begins Capturing, Sequestering Carbon Dioxide http://wfpl.org/post/alabama-plant-begins-capturing-sequestering-carbon-dioxide <p>A pilot project to capture and store carbon dioxide has begun at a power plant in Alabama. The effort at the Barry Electric Generating Station began in full at the end of last month.</p><p>The plant is big, and the carbon-capture apparatus is small, so only about one percent of the flue gas is actually being captured. But the fact that the carbon dioxide is also being transported about 12 miles through a pipeline and sequestered deep in the earth is an important step for the technology.</p> Mon, 03 Sep 2012 20:30:00 +0000 Erica Peterson 1527 at http://wfpl.org Alabama Plant Begins Capturing, Sequestering Carbon Dioxide Database Charts Information From Largest Emitters of Carbon Dioxide http://wfpl.org/post/database-charts-information-largest-emitters-carbon-dioxide <p>Wondering how much carbon dioxide is being emitted in your country, state, county or Congressional district? I&nbsp; just came across a <a href="http://carma.org/dig#top" target="_blank">cool database</a> produced by <a href="http://www.carma.org">CARMA </a>(Carbon Monitoring for Action) that has all of that information.</p> Mon, 27 Aug 2012 16:07:34 +0000 Erica Peterson 1464 at http://wfpl.org Database Charts Information From Largest Emitters of Carbon Dioxide UK to Host Carbon Capture Workshop http://wfpl.org/post/uk-host-carbon-capture-workshop <p>Carbon capture has been out of the news lately, as many power plants have abandoned efforts to capture and store carbon dioxide. But the University of Kentucky says the technology is still relevant.</p><p>UK&rsquo;s <a href="http://www.caer.uky.edu/" target="_blank">Center for Applied Energy Research </a>will host a <a href="http://www.caer.uky.edu/events/cmrg2012/home.shtml" target="_blank">carbon capture workshop</a> in September. It&rsquo;s meant for utility members and researchers to learn more about the technology.</p> Mon, 06 Aug 2012 10:30:00 +0000 Erica Peterson 1209 at http://wfpl.org EPA Hears Testimony on New Carbon Pollution Rule http://wfpl.org/post/epa-hears-testimony-new-carbon-pollution-rule <p>The <a href="http://www.epa.gov" target="_blank">Environmental Protection Agency</a> is in the midst of day-long hearings in Washington, D.C. and Chicago on proposed new standards from carbon pollution from power plants.</p> Thu, 24 May 2012 18:48:32 +0000 Erica Peterson 427 at http://wfpl.org