tv http://wfpl.org en WLKY Wins Most Time Slots in Latest Ratings Report http://wfpl.org/post/wlky-wins-most-time-slots-latest-ratings-report <p>The ratings from July sweeps are in and WLKY&nbsp;has bested most of its competition in Louisville.</p> Mon, 30 Jul 2012 18:32:38 +0000 Gabe Bullard 1164 at http://wfpl.org WLKY Wins Most Time Slots in Latest Ratings Report The Plunger Man and the Car-Driving Horse: Barry Bernson on His Life in TV News http://wfpl.org/post/plunger-man-and-car-driving-horse-barry-bernson-his-life-tv-news <p>From the Simpsons to the Onion, the world is full of TV news parodies. Local TV newscasts (and the people who star in them) are easy targets. And among the stereotypes, next to Ted Baxter and the dim bulb weatherman, is the feature reporter. The impossibly-coiffured reporter in the field holding a microphone up to a waterskiing squirrel. But it wasn&#39;t always like that.</p> Fri, 20 Jul 2012 17:05:15 +0000 Gabe Bullard 1075 at http://wfpl.org The Plunger Man and the Car-Driving Horse: Barry Bernson on His Life in TV News WLKY Begins Cable Negotiations http://wfpl.org/post/wlky-begins-cable-negotiations <p>WLKY-TV&nbsp;posted what was once <a href="http://www.wlky.com/news/local-news/louisville-news/Notice-to-Insight-Cable-Subscribers/-/9718340/15123276/-/obinurz/-/index.html#ixzz1yBEPk4cB">a fairly routine notice on its website today</a>.</p> Mon, 18 Jun 2012 21:02:24 +0000 Gabe Bullard 688 at http://wfpl.org WLKY Begins Cable Negotiations WDRB Back On Cable http://wfpl.org/post/wdrb-back-cable <p>Cable customers in Louisville can once again watch the city&#39;s Fox affiliate, WDRB.</p><p>The station was previously at an impasse with <a href="http://letskeepiton.com/index.asp?loc=lou">Time Warner Cable</a> over how much the provider should pay to broadcast WDRB&#39;s local and network content. Last week, the contract between the two expired and Time Warner pulled WDRB and its sister station WMYO from the cable lineup.</p> Thu, 07 Jun 2012 09:17:47 +0000 Devin Katayama 568 at http://wfpl.org WDRB Back On Cable Tough Talk Continues Between WDRB and Time Warner http://wfpl.org/post/tough-talk-continues-between-wdrb-and-time-warner <p>WDRB General Manager Bill Lamb told the <em>Courier-Journal</em> yesterday that his station will likely be back on Time Warner Cable &quot;<a href="http://www.courier-journal.com/article/20120605/BUSINESS/306050055/WDRB-chief-hopes-to-be-back-on-Time-Warner-Cable-within-days-?odyssey=tab|mostpopular|text|FRONTPAGE">within days</a>.&quot;</p> Wed, 06 Jun 2012 18:55:50 +0000 Gabe Bullard 564 at http://wfpl.org Tough Talk Continues Between WDRB and Time Warner WDRB Boss to Local Stations: You're Next http://wfpl.org/post/wdrb-boss-local-stations-youre-next <p>WDRB-TV in Louisville is currently without about half of its audience as <a href="/post/time-warner-hits-button-wdrb">negotiations continue with Time Warner Cable</a>.</p><p>The talks are over how much Time Warner should pay WDRB to broadcast local content. Time Warner says it has offered a rate comparable to what Insight used to pay WDRB, but station officials say it won&#39;t cover the necessary costs to keep that station a Fox affiliate.</p> Fri, 01 Jun 2012 19:18:13 +0000 Gabe Bullard 505 at http://wfpl.org WDRB Boss to Local Stations: You're Next Talks Continue Between WDRB and Time Warner http://wfpl.org/post/talks-continue-between-wdrb-and-time-warner <p>Yesterday, the talks between WDRB&nbsp;-TV and Time Warner Cable <a href="/post/talks-get-tough-between-wdrb-and-time-warner">went public</a>&nbsp;in a big way.</p> Thu, 31 May 2012 16:07:56 +0000 Gabe Bullard 482 at http://wfpl.org Talks Get Tough Between WDRB and Time Warner http://wfpl.org/post/talks-get-tough-between-wdrb-and-time-warner <p>The contract between Time Warner Cable and WDRB-TV in Louisville is on the verge of expiring.</p> Wed, 30 May 2012 21:34:10 +0000 Gabe Bullard 477 at http://wfpl.org Talks Get Tough Between WDRB and Time Warner