UPDATE: Oct. 16 1:15 pm: Here are the winners announced by the Kentucky Department of Education:  A 3rd-grade teacher at Murray Elementary School in the Murray Independent school district, Holly Bloodworth, is the 2014 Kentucky Teacher of the Year.

Melanie Trowel, a science teacher at Carter G. Woodson Academy in Fayette County, is the 2014 Middle School Teacher of the Year. Joanna Howerton Stevens, a mathematics teacher at Lincoln County High School in the Lincoln County school district, is the High School Teacher of the Year.

Original Post:

It's often said that teachers don't get enough recognition. 

While many great teachers exist, this morning the Kentucky Department of Education will be recognizing a few and naming the 2014 Teachers of the Year.

Among those nominated for Elementary School Teacher of the Year is Jefferson County's own Angela Pleasant from James E. Farmer Elementary. We'd be remiss if we didn't also acknowledge Craig Grimm from North Oldham High in Oldham County.

Gov. Steve Beshear will be joined by Education Commissioner Terry Holliday, Education Workforce Secretary Tom Zawacki and Ashland Inc. Chairman and CEO Jim O’Brien in naming the winners who will receive cash prizes ranging from $500 for those Teacher Achievement Award Winners, $3,000 for two of the three Teacher of the Year finalists, and $10,000 for the winner.

Here are your nominees:

Competing for Elementary Teacher of the Year are:

  • Holly Bloodworth, Murray Elementary, Murray Independent
  • Angela Pleasant, James E. Farmer Elementary, Jefferson County
  • LenaKay E. Wilson, Mayfield Elementary, Madison County

Middle school semifinalists are:

  • Willow Hambrick, Royal Spring Middle, Scott County
  • Michelle W. Lustenberg, Phillip A. Sharp Middle, Pendleton County
  • Melanie Trowel, Carter G. Woodson Academy, Fayette County

In the high school category, the semifinalists are:

  • Scot A. Gill, Tates Creek High, Fayette County
  • Craig Grimm, North Oldham High, Oldham County
  • Joanna H. Stevens, Lincoln County High, Lincoln County
  • Catherine Vannatter, Bryan Station High, Fayette County

2014 Ashland Teacher Achievement Award Winners

            Bracken County – Robin Rath-Fultz, Taylor Elementary

            Carter County – Beverly McDavid, West Carter Middle

            Elizabethtown Independent – Derisa Hindle, Talton K. Stone Middle

            Fayette County – Cynthia L. Brown, Lexington Traditional Magnet

            Fayette County – Scot A. Gill, Tates Creek High

            Fayette County – Melanie Trowel, Carter G. Woodson Academy

            Fayette County – Catherine Vannatter, Bryan Station High

            Floyd County – Cortney H. Flannery, Betsy Layne High

            Floyd County – Amanda Lee, May Valley Elementary

            Hardin County – Kathy S. Thompson, Central Hardin High

            Jefferson County – Rita Cron, Atherton High

            Jefferson County – Angela Pleasant, James E. Farmer Elementary

            Jessamine County – Shawn Carlstedt, Rosenwald Dunbar Elementary

            Lincoln County – Joanna H. Stevens, Lincoln County High

            Madison County – LenaKay E. Wilson, Mayfield Elementary

            Menifee County – Lana Swartz, Menifee County High

            Muhlenberg County – Kelly D. Melton, Muhlenberg North Middle

            Murray Independent – Holly Bloodworth, Murray Elementary

            Pendleton County – Michelle W. Lustenberg, Phillip A. Sharp Middle

            Oldham County – Craig Grimm, North Oldham High

            Oldham County – Gina Weber, Crestwood Elementary

            Scott County – Willow Hambrick, Royal Spring Middle

            Simpson County – Sharon S. Smith, Franklin Elementary

            Taylor County – Jessica McCubbin, Taylor County Middle