The newly-established Kentucky High School Basketball Hall of Fame will induct its first class Saturday.

The inaugural class has 16 members—players and coaches from the 1940s through the 1990s.

The class includes Louisville Male High School’s Darrell Griffith and Seneca’s Wes Unseld, both of whom would go on to play for the University of Louisville and in the NBA.

Rex Chapman of Owensboro Apollo and Richie Farmer of Clay County will be inducted.  They both went on to star at the University of Kentucky.  Chapman also played in the NBA.

Two women players are in the 2012 class: Geri Grigsby, who starred at McDowell High School, and Warren Central standout Clemette Haskins.

The class also includes coaches Bobby Keith of Clay County and Laurel County’s Roy Bowling.

The induction ceremony will be held Saturday evening in Elizabethtown.

A complete list of inductees is here.

Rick Howlett is WFPL's Broadcast Managing Editor and also produces feature and general assignment radio stories.