Dirt Bowl

Local News
9:00 pm
Wed July 23, 2014

ESPN Takes a Look at Street Ball in Louisville and Around the U.S.

Credit ESPN.com

Louisville’s annual Dirt Bowl street ball basketball tournament could help save playground basketball.

That is according to an article published today on ESPN.com that examines the fading style of outdoor basketball played on concrete courts.

Here's the article.

Read more
Local News
4:53 pm
Wed June 18, 2014

Increased Police Planned for Dirt Bowl, But Organizers Say Community Stems Violence Better

Credit dirtbowlky.com

The Dirt Bowl street basketball tournament begins this weekend—and despite organizers predictions of a violence-free affair, Louisville Metro Police are planning an increased presence around Shawnee Park.

Police plan to have more than 20 patrol officers,  mounted police and VIPER Unit members at the park during the tournament’s opening weekend, said Major Bill Kristofeck, commander of LMPD's Second Division.  A group of volunteer ambassadors will also be present, he added.

Read more
Local News
12:24 pm
Mon June 25, 2012

Dirt Bowl Basketball Tournament Returns to West Louisville

Joined by community leaders, lawmakers and local athletes, Louisville Mayor Greg Fischer announced the return of The Dirt Bowl basketball tournament to Shawnee Park this summer.

The competition has been a West End tradition for over four decades, but has been on hiatus due to a lack of funding and sponsorship. Organizers were able to briefly revive the Dirt Bowl in 2009 and city leaders have been working to resurrect the tournament permanently.

"It was a significant loss for Louisville and a specific loss for western Louisville," says Fischer said. "Generations of families came here to sit on bleachers, to share good times and to watch some serious hoops."

The Dirt Bowl was created by community activist Ben Watkins in 1969 as a way to bring basketball and family-style picnics together. Over the decades, the tournament has hosted local and national basketball stars such as Jim McDaniels, Dan Issel, Wes Unseld, Darryl Griffith and Derek Anderson.

Read more