Local News
3:10 pm
Thu June 5, 2014

Why Hasn't a Racehorse Won the Triple Crown Since 1978?

California Chrome in Baltimore.
Credit Jay Baker/Creative Commons

Three racehorses won the Triple Crown in the 1970s, and none have won the ultimate thoroughbred distinction in the subsequent decades.  

Oh, contenders have tried. Since Affirmed won the Triple Crown in 1978, 11 horses won the Kentucky Derby and Preakness Stakes, but failed to win the Belmont Stakes.

  California Chrome adds his name to one of those lists—champion or failed contender—on Saturday.

Read more
Local News
6:44 pm
Sat May 17, 2014

California Chrome Wins the Preakness Stakes

California Chrome earlier this year.
Credit Creative Commons

California Chrome has taken another step toward becoming the first Triple Crown winner since 1978's Affirmed.

The Kentucky Derby winner outran nine other contenders Saturday to take the 139th Preakness Stakes at Baltimore's Pimlico Race Course. California Chrome, a heavy favorite, was followed by Ride on Curlin and Social Inclusion.

California Chrome is the 13th horse since Affirmed to win the first two legs of the Triple Crown. The last Triple Crown contender after two races was I'll Have Another, who dropped out of the 2012 Belmont Stakes with an injury.

Read more
3:29 pm
Fri June 22, 2012

I'll Have Another Headed to Japan to Stud

Kentucky Derby and Preakness Stakes winner I'll Have Another has been sold to a horse farm on the island of Hokkaido. The horse is currently at Betfair Hollywood Park and will embark on a stud career in August.

From the Daily Racing Form:


Read more