Democrats in Tuesday’s general election retained their majority in the Kentucky House, but Republicans gained some ground.

House Speaker Pro Tem Larry Clark eked out a victory last night over Republican Brian Simpson to win re-election.

Speaker Greg Stumbo, Majority Caucus Chair Bob Damron and Majority Whip John Will Stacy were also victorious.

Democrats who lost last night were Reps. Charlie Hoffman, Kent Stevens, Tim Firkins, Dottie Sims and Don Pasley.

Democrats also lost seats being vacated by Reps. Ron Weston and Eddie Ballard, but held onto the seat being vacated by Rep. Harry Moberly. Republicans retained the seat being vacated by Rep. Scott Brinkman.

Among Republican winners Tuesday were Reps. Ron Crimm, Stan Lee, Minority Whip David Floyd, Lonnie Napier, Steven Rudy, Sal Santoro, Keith Hall, C-B Embry, Tim Moore, Jill York and Kevin Bratcher.