Local News Politics

Voters in parts of Louisville will find contested races for the Jefferson County Board of Education on their ballots Tuesday.

Voters downtown and in west Louisville can choose from First District incumbent Diane Porter and challengers Attica Scott, Bonnie Lash Freeman and Phyllis Morton.

In northeast Jefferson County, Third District incumbent and board chair Debbie Wesslund also faces three challengers—David Toborowsky, Brent Whaley and Daniel Smithson.

In a surprise move, the Jefferson County Teachers Association endorsed Toborowsky against Wesslund, only to withdraw that endorsement last week. It was discovered that Toborowsky moved into the district shortly before the filing deadline. He’s been living with district resident and political activist Chris Thieneman since August. Neither the head of the teachers’ association nor the candidate returned calls for comment.