Local News Next Louisville Politics

The 41 people who will guide mayor-elect Greg Fischer’s transition to Metro Hall have been named.

Fischer’s transition team includes religious, business and civic leaders. Among them are the mayors of Middletown and Shively, Urban League president Ben Richmond, and Southwest Dream Team co-founder Vince Jarboe. The team will be led by outgoing State Representative and former Metro Council President Ron Weston.

While the team will work with Mayor Jerry Abramson’s administration, Fischer says the last mayor of the old city of Louisville will also have a role in the transition.

“Dave Armstrong is going to be serving in another capacity on another team that will be announced in the next five days or so, but he’ll be playing, certainly, a role in this,” he says.

One of Abramson’s advisors and two Metro employees are also on the team. Fischer says more members may be added to the team in the next two months.

“I’ve already spoken to Chris Johnson, president of Leadership Louisville,” he says. “I have asked Leadership Louisville for their help and advice to advice leaders through Leadership Louisville, the Bingham Fellows and the Connectors program as well.”

One of the team’s jobs will be to help decide which city department heads to keep on staff and who to appoint for those who will leave.

“We want to focus on quality, we want to focus on bringing some fresh and new faces as well,” says Fischer. “We’ll get a better sense of that over the next month.”

Fischer will be sworn in as mayor on January 3rd. To see a full transition staff list, visit The Edit.