Democrats had hoped to wrest control of the Kentucky Senate away from Republicans in Tuesday’s election, but it didn’t happen.

Democratic Sens. Mike Reynolds and David Boswell lost to Republicans Tuesday.

Republicans also picked up the seat being vacated by Senate Minority Leader Ed Worley and held onto the seat being vacated by Sen. Gary Tapp.

Republican Elizabeth Tori was defeated by Democrat Dennis Parrett.

In far western Kentucky, Sen. Bob Leeper – budget chairman and the chamber’s only independent – won re-election over Democrat Rex Smith and Republican William East.

Senate President Pro Tem Katie Stine won re-election, as did Minority Whip Jerry Rhoads.

Other winners last night were Democrats Robin Webb and R-J Palmer, and Republicans Alice Forgy Kerr, Ernie Harris, Brandon Smith, Julie Denton and Dan Seum.