Local News

President Obama today declared a major disaster in the State of Indiana resulting from severe storms and tornados in April and May.

The declaration will grant Federal aid to supplement State and local recovery efforts in many affected Indiana counties.

Federal funding is also available on a cost-sharing basis for hazard mitigation measures statewide and FEMA said additional designations may be made at a later date at the request of the state, if they are warranted by the results of further damage assessments.

The following Counties have qualified:  Benton, Clark, Crawford, Daviess, Dearborn, Dubois, Floyd, Franklin, Gibson, Harrison, Jackson, Jefferson, Jennings, Knox, Martin, Monroe, Ohio, Orange, Parke, Perry, Pike, Posey, Putnam, Ripley, Scott, Spencer, Starke, Sullivan, Switzerland, Vanderburgh, Warrick, and Washington.