Local News

The 2010 Kentucky State Police Trooper of the Year is a 17-year veteran of Post One in far western Kentucky.

Senior Trooper Thomas Williams of Smithland is a busy man. Patrolling I-24 and the Western Kentucky Parkway, he issued more than 2,000 citations last year, including 777 for speeding. He investigated 45 criminal cases and made almost 280 arrests.

“Very humbling. It’s an honor,” he said at the annual KSP awards ceremony in Frankfort. “It’s an honor to even be able to do this.”

KSP veteran Bryan Whittaker of Beaver Dam is the 2010 Detective of the Year. Officer Emily Horton of Warsaw is Officer of the Year for the Commercial Vehicle Enforcement Division.

Also during the ceremony, troopers were honored for valor, bravery, life-saving acts, safe driving and meritorious service.

(Pictured, left to right, Detective Brian Whittaker, Officer Emily Horton and Senior Trooper Thomas Williams)