Local News

Kentucky Gov. Steve Beshear has been notified by President Barack Obama that five more counties are eligible for federal disaster relief bringing the total count to 21 counties.

Residents from Grayson, Larue, Ohio, Russell and Trimble counties are the latest to be granted federal relief following the March 2 storms that damaged several regions.

“As we expected, FEMA has authorized funding quickly for these additional storm-ravaged counties,” said Gov. Beshear in a press release. “We have strong working relationships with both our local officials and our federal emergency responders, and I am grateful that our request has been granted to these additional counties.”

From the release:

“Assistance for individuals can include grants for temporary housing and home repairs, low-cost loans to cover uninsured property losses, and other programs to help individuals and business owners recover from the effects of the disaster.

Residents and business owners who sustained losses in the designated counties can apply for assistance by registering online at www.DisasterAssistance.gov or by calling 1-800-621-FEMA (3362) or 1-800-462-7585 (TTY) for the hearing and speech impaired. The toll-free telephone numbers will operate from 7 a.m. to 10 p.m. (local time) seven days a week until further notice. Recovery centers will also be set up in affected areas to assist those residents in person.”