Arts and Culture

Louisville native Jennifer Lawrence was nominated Wednesday for a Screen Actors Guild for her supporting role in the upcoming drama “American Hustle.”

The film stars Christian Bale, Bradley Cooper and Amy Adams and regards the Abscam scandal in the 1970s. Lawrence plays the wife of a con man played by Bale.

“American Hustle” slated for release later this month. Here’s a trailer:

Lawrence, 23, won the Academy Award for best actress earlier this year for her role in “Silver Linings Playbook.” David O. Russell directed “Silver Linings” and “American Hustle.” 

Related: Jennifer Lawrence Talks to WFPL Before ‘Hunger Games: Catching Fire’ release.

This is Lawrence’s third SAG Award nomination. She won a SAG Award earlier this year for “Silver Linings Playbook” and was nomination in the 2011 ceremony for “Winter’s Bone,” her breakthrough role which also earned her an Academy Award nomination.

The SAG Awards will be Jan. 18. The other outstanding supporting actress nominees are:

  • Lupita Nyong’o for “12 Years a Slave”
  • Julia Roberts for “August: Osage County”
  • June Squibb for “Nebraska”
  • Oprah Winfrey for “Lee Daniels’ The Butler”

“American Hustle” is also nominated for outstanding cast for the SAG Awards, considered a top precursor/predictor for the Academy Awards. 

The film is getting positive reviews so far.

“American Hustle” will have an early screening on Dec. 16 at Baxter Avenue Filmworks to benefit the West End Schools via the Jennifer Lawrence Foundation.

Lawrence is also the star of the action film “Hunger Games: Catching Fire,” which has been a top box office earner since its release in November.

Update Thursday: And a Golden Globe Nomination

Lawrence was nominated Thursday for a Golden Globe for the role in “American Hustle.” The other nominees are:

  • Lupita Nyong’o for “12 Years a Slave”
  • Julia Roberts for “August: Osage County”
  • June Squibb for “Nebraska”
  • Sally Hawkins for “Blue Jasmine”

The Golden Globe ceremony is Jan. 12.

Academy Award nominees are announced Jan. 16.